wordpress plugins

Preventing Clients from Deactivating WordPress Plugins: Tips and Techniques

Preventing clients from deactivating WordPress plugins can help maintain website stability and security. There are several ways to accomplish this:

Use a Plugin Management Tool

Several plugins in the WordPress repository can restrict user access to certain plugins or disable the ability to deactivate them, such as Members, User Role Editor, and Capability Manager Enhanced.wordpress plugins

Use Custom User Roles

Creating custom user roles and assigning them to clients can limit their access to certain functionalities, such as plugin deactivation.

wordpress custom roles
Use Code Snippets

Adding code snippets to your functions.php file can prevent clients from deactivating plugins. The following code snippet can remove the deactivate link for everyone except the administrator:

function disable_plugin_deactivation($actions, $plugin_file, $plugin_data, $context) {
// Remove the deactivate link for everyone except the administrator
if (array_key_exists(‘deactivate’, $actions) && !current_user_can(‘activate_plugins’)) {
unset($actions[‘deactivate’]);
}
return $actions;
}
add_filter(‘plugin_action_links’, ‘disable_plugin_deactivation’, 10, 4);